The Swayed feeling of yesterday!

Do you remember the feeling that you felt when you kept pushing off what you really truly wanted to do for yourself and later kept reflecting about it?

Do you remember that instance when you understood and said to yourself, “This is what I want to do!!” and had that glint of determination in your eyes to do it?

Do you remember that amazement, that contempt, that pride, that euphoria that you experienced when you did what you wanted to do for ages and then you had this beautiful wide smile on your face?

Well, if you do, then you may be able to relate to whatever thoughts that I have put together here.

Just the other day, I was watching this Hindi movie, “Saath Khoon Maaf” (released internationally as Seven Sins Forgiven), and despite it being a fairly good black romance comedy , what attracted me the most is what it was based on. The movie was based on a short story “Susanna’s Seven Husbands” by Ruskin Bond. On reading that name, something tingled in my head. I had heard that name but I just couldn’t place anything that this person wrote. But sooner, my brain gave way to the bookworm in me, setting the ignorant idiot aside, and gave me the insight. I knew Ruskin Bond since my school days. The only reason I didn’t remember him was because of my rusty memory of Rusty.

Oh right, I forgot to mention, Ruskin Bond is that amazing person who took to his will and entertained children for years. He wrote a lot of amazing poems, short stories and novels in a very easy going manner that charmed most of us when we were kids. At least that is what he is famous and remembered for. So curious as I was, I kept digging into his life. Checking out how things worked out for him and his books which I had missed etc. I ended up reading this interview of his in which he tells about how he had started writing about romance in his 20’s, children’s stories in his 40’s and from his 70’s how he transitioned into philosophical and humorous stories.

After I was done, I went on this deep thought. Even though I was very much fascinated by the life and works of Ruskin Bond, the thing that intrigued me the most was that he kept doing what he wanted in his life. He reflected on what he did in his life and tried to experience the joy that he used to get when he made other people especially children happy. But in each phase he kept experimenting on what he wanted to do. Be it love, innocence, comedy or philosophy. That being the reason I restarted what I want to do, i.e Writing. And I feel that zest zeal and the huge lot of positive energy through my body and that makes me happy by doing what I like.

So take my word, if you are putting off something you really love, then don’t wait for another thought, just do it. And keep at it. You will be assuredly be happy, and you will feel that pride, contempt and euphoria once you get in track with it. Get hold of that feeling and just go along with it. Believe me it is going to be something worth your while.

As they say, some things are better done….than said! 🙂

Leave a Reply

